Pre – Project Planning and Analysis Report for www.mcdmcom585.com

For my final term project I will develop a portfolio website called www.mcdmcom585.com because the purpose of the site is:

PRIMARY – To highlight the “MCDM” program work along with my

SECONDARY – Previous work and also it is for the course “COM 585”.

Therefore, www.mcdmcom585.com will be a compilation of my previous, current and MCDM work to showcase what I posses as a professional and visually portray my skills, talent and interests. www.mcdmcom585.com will demonstrate my technical and academic expertise, which can be reviewed, assessed and form a basis for the potential employers whether to hire me or not.

CRITERIA TO JUDGE EFFECTIVENESS

USABILITY: Theme that can easily adapt my website to a desktop, mobile or any other viewing environment because the Internet is ubiquitous and easily accessible whether it’s a cafeteria, library, home etc. Along with, the smart phones and tablets, which are available at a throw away price, because of the stiff competition. Thus, I believe that my Target Audience can access my site anywhere, anytime and anyhow.

DESIGN: Overall Look and Feel of the website needs to be attractive as it is important to build a bridge between the visitors and me. A professional design builds credibility and helps increase the chances of my professional work being seen. A bad design however, leaves bad impression to my site and personality. Because choice of design reflects one’s personality and this is important because some employers are particular with an employee’s personality.

RELEVANCE: Relevant content and information such as work samples, achievements and other information related to my profession, academics and nothing other than that.

NAVIGATION AND LOGIC: According to the website purpose the Navigation and Logic will be simple and straight forward with limited menus, pages, tabs, links, search etc.

POTENTIAL AUDIENCE

PRIMARY: Employers, Organizations and Campus/University recruiters at career fairs.

For Example: Zappos, Microsoft, Amazon, Wunderman etc.

SECONDARY: Colleagues, Friends, Family and Job consultants for networking and demonstration of my work to explore potential opportunities by networks connected via friends and family.

COMPETITORS

PRECISE CURIOSITY

http://precisecuriosity.com/

IDEAS I WANT TO BORROW:

  1. The website is minimal, simple and straightforward.
  2. Sequence and order of information
  3. Clean and good use of space

 IDEAS I DON’T WANT TO BORROW:

  1. Look and Feel is very casual
  2. No explanation to call to action or any further elaboration
  3. No featured work and the recent posts are at the bottom

BOOEE

http://www.booee.com/

IDEAS I WANT TO BORROW:

  1. Simplicity and style
  2. Navigation and logic
  3. Content and data architecture
  4. Design: appropriate use of colors, elements and principle of design

 IDEAS I DON’T WANT TO BORROW:

  1. The website is information heavy and does not display any work visually
  2. No call to action
  3. No social media integration

 ABOUT.ME

https://about.me/

IDEAS I WANT TO BORROW:

  1. Profile page style
  2. Social media Integration
  3. Layout
  4. Tagging style so that the visitor has a clear idea of the background

 IDEAS I DON’T WANT TO BORROW:

  1. No additional pages
  2. Emphasis on profile page only
2 responses to “Pre – Project Planning and Analysis Report for www.mcdmcom585.com”

  1. Kathy E. Gill says :

    Hi, Ranjan – very clear take-aways (Ideas I want/don’t want to borrow). [Note: remember to upload a photo to your WordPress gravatar.] Remember you’ll need three personas in your final project plan.

Leave a Reply

