Three Themes for Your WordPress Photoblog

My website (ianolsonsb.com) will be a photoblog concentrated on my photography since moving to Seattle. I took up photography as a hobby in high school, and studied photojournalism for two years in college where it became a passion. Since moving to the Pacific Northwest, I’ve forced myself to become familiar with the city in effort to ensure I won’t waste all of my time sleeping, studying all day, and watching TV. For this photoblog, I want to show all the beauty Seattle has to offer- from the illuminating splendor of Downtown at 2 a.m., to the brutal gothic architecture of the University of Washington that overlooks Rainer Mountain, to Discovery Park’s spectacular view of the Puget Sound and the Cascade and Olympic Mountain ranges. This blog is dedicated to my mother and sister who text me everyday asking for pictures because they’ve never visited Washington.

My criteria for choosing my WordPress theme is my ability to create an affordable online portfolio without compromising quality and professionalism. Being a broke graduate student, I can’t afford a premium theme. This leaves me with fewer theme options than text-driven blogs. I also want my site to be user-friendly. Most photoblogs I’ve researched have awful navigation menus and have cluttered sidebars that frustrate viewers.

Autofocus-                                                http://theme.wordpress.com/themes/autofocus/

I like the  minimal-looking, one-column blog layout and this theme is user-friendly for visitors to navigate. It has important features like pseudo-image protection &mdashl. Both these features protect images from download with an invisible layer of HTML that prevents users from saving the image directly. It is also compatible with mobile devices like iPhones and blackberries. For a photography portfolio that is focus on my photos since moving to Seattle, the prominence of the time stamp might work well to tell my story.

Duotone-                                                http://theme.wordpress.com/themes/duotone/

Duotone is intriguing because of its accommodating features for novice bloggers like me. From a stylistic perspective, Duotone creates a unique experience by analyzing the colors and tones in a JPG and styles the single post pageview to complement the photograph. Images are automatically framed within the page, so the page shrinks and expands accordingly as the visitor moves from page to page. The image is the focal point so the sidebar clutter is minimal. The Duotone feels more like a photo gallery, and text and other content can be added to give it more of a bloggy feel (if I choose to do this later).

Nishita-                                                http://theme.wordpress.com/themes/nishita/

Nishita has unique features that the other two themes do not offer. Each time a photo is uploaded, a thumbnail of the image is created on archive pages. This makes organizing and rearranging photos simple and painless. Nishita also offers 1024 pixel width, which is optimal for standard photoblogs. Reading the reviews, it appears is theme is more hospitable for novice bloggers like me.

About Ian Applegate-Olson

I am a graduate student from the University of Washington pursuing a masters of communication in digital media. I have been an avid reader and writer since childhood and started my next venture in podcasting.

Leave a Reply

