Linkedin: A usability nightmare for non-English speakers

As I will finish my MCDM program at the end of the next quarter, I started to update and redefine my Digital Media Persona. In the process of updating my Linkedin profile I find out that my CV, even when I wrote it in English,  showed up some parts in Spanish. This issue brought my attention when several new contacts told me that my profile was confusing. I checked it out and yes, surprisingly it was showing some parts in Spanish.

My first logical solution was to change the language. However, this turned out to be a difficult task. I spent 15-20 minutes going around to all the Settings options until I found the language option. Finally, I changed my language to English! Hurray! However, I checked my Public Profile again and the problem was still there.

Thinking what else I could do, I came up with a new idea! Create a second English Profile and make it my first option. I spent another 30 minutes copying and pasting again all the pieces. However, when I was going to set up my English profile as “primary” profile Linkedin didn’t allow me. As you see in the picture, I could delete my English profile but not my Spanish one.

I went back over the Settings and Help Center content and spent another 30 minutes on it. I didn’t find anything so I type in the Search Box Delete primary account. Sweet! The first result it was what I wanted… until I read the solution (I am attaching the screenshot because I think it is worth to read this).

So apparently, my only solution is to delete my Spanish Account and lose my 198 existing contacts.

After a day of meditation I decided to delete this account now. It was better to lose some contacts now that I didn’t start the job hunting yet. However, this took me (without counting the last 2 or 3 hours that I have already spent) another 45 minutes of copy and pasting my CV, hours of re-inviting again my entire network and tons of Linkedin emails every day.

Linkedin’s main service is to help networking and job Hunting so I can’t understand how such a basic user need as changing your language if you are job hunting in another country is not taking in consideration. My only advantage of this painful process was that I reconnected with old contacts again through “how is your life these days” emails.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

