Solo Competitive Analysis- Dacia Saenz

My goals for showmetiger.com are to highlight the various creative and professional work I have been involved with over the last decade.  These projects range from photography to film productions to writing.  The challenge that I am having a hard time wrapping my head around is how to effectively represent different categories in a way that is functional and aesthetically pleasing without being too “busy” or messy.  Since the website is meant to represent my creative endeavors, aesthestics are an important part of representing my brand.
Three possible audiences:
Potential collaborators: Launching new projects is an important part of continuing to grow as a creative. I want this site to help me connect and establish new relationships with potential collaborators.
Potential employers:  The primary aim of this website is to serve as a dynamic multi-media resume. I want to be able to point people to this place as the hub and repository for all of the projects I’ve had my paws in.
Potential clients: The site should not only appeal to people vetting me to be a part of a larger organization, but should also maintain an air of independence.  I also want to be able to sell myself as a (sun of a gun) gun for hire.

Sites to compare:

Layton Hayes-graphic designer- I love the color palate used on this site. I think it’s a good basic model for me when thinking of how to organize the various projects I have worked on in an intuitive and simple way.

Substantial– web application designers- This comapny has a ton of work under their belt and some big clients. Their website isn’t as flashy as I would expect, which is a plus. It gives me an impression of them as being approachable and down to earth. People I would want to work with.

Annie Ray Events-photographer: I love how fun and vibrant the site is.  I think I like the slider style way of showing her photography. My jury is still out.

One response to “Solo Competitive Analysis- Dacia Saenz”

  1. Kathy E. Gill says :

    Look at Annie again and think about contrast – the light blue type is hard to read. The site feels “fun” but it’s light (IMO) on content. I’m with you on a slider, I think.

    Layton’s site is a basic Portfolio site. Very simple. There’s no “division” – it’s “here are my projects”.

    Interesting breakdown of your audience. Go back and look at the “about me” pages of these three sites – think of yourself as a potential collaborator. What works and what doesn’t work for you in their background info pages?

Leave a comment