My Two Favorite Things

As I have been conducting my research for another class, yes I’m trying to build on my experiences, I found two features that I love on current websites.  More accurately, I was reminded of one and I discovered a new one. 

This many not seem like a big deal, but the first has to do with the print out of a webpage I need as a hardcopy.  Years ago, or maybe just months, a print out of a webpage would be nothing more than a disjointed compilation of text.  Images were place all over the place with no reason.  Random text would print out before and after the actual content I would want to capture and I could never tell what site I was on by just looking at the hard copy.  These were the day when I would just capture the text and stick it in word so that I could reformat it to meet my needs.  Needless to say, I can’t remember the last time I had to just grab the text.  Minus a few blogs that don’t have the right code, I can print out anything and it looks like a mini, printed version of the site.  I use this feature weekly and yet it’s a design element that I take for granted and one that I wanted so badly a few years ago.

As for my second and newly found favorite feature…it’s the search application on www.tsa.gov.  Over the weekend I was conducting research on body scanners and I wanted to see what the TSA had to offer.  So I put the words “body scanners” in the search box and within a few seconds I got a list of item.  A short list of items if you compare it to google, bing, cnn.com, etc.  However at the bottom of the list they had the following statement: In order to show you the most relevant results, we have omitted some entries very similar to the 8 already displayed. If you like, you can repeat the search with the omitted results included. So I gave it a try (by clicking on ‘repeat the search with omitted results included’) and I found the golden ticket.  My research was to write a pro and con on using the body scanners.  And guess what, I found a PDF file that was part of a FOIA request and contained complaints from passengers that claim TSA didn’t follow their own guidelines.  I’m sure that there is a team of lawyers working on this issue, but for me…the average user…I love that search feature.

Leave a Reply

