Is eschoolnews.com Using WordPress As A CMS?

I’ve been a subscriber to www.eschoolnews.com for months now and I only recently noticed that it might be using wordpress as a Content Management System (CMS). My biggest clue, besides the one I should have gotten when I signed up months ago, was this morning when I wanted to continue reading an article regarding on-line bullying in a K-12 school back east.

Like most cases we are now seeing in the news regarding social media and bullying, it resulted in a suicide. Which is hard to accept and I have no idea how we will combat it in our schools.

Ideally we will need to provide additional staff training and create a policy, but I digress — I finished page one of the article and when I clicked for page two I got a log-in request. Naturally I didn’t remember my password, so I entered my e-mail address and waited for a reply. You guessed it. I got an e-mail from wordpress.com that my password had been reset.

I don’t know if it’s because I’m enrolled in a web tools class that is using wordpress as the tool of choice, but it happened for a reason. Mostly it means that I’m now going to pay more attention to this site. I really would have never known or even thought that wordpress was being used to build and run this site. I’m just your average user. As long as I can get the information I need, I’m happy. What is the line from the 1989 Field of Dreams movie:  Build it and they will come.

It may not be the best design ever, but it meets the needs of their audience. It covers technology and K-20 education, and since I typically access their articles via their e-newsletter — I didn’t worry about the design. Instead I focused on the title, one line summary and if it’s an issue I need to gather information on.  I wonder if anyone else ran into a similar case and how they found out that wordpress was the CMS behind the site.

One response to “Is eschoolnews.com Using WordPress As A CMS?”

  1. kegill says :

    The answer is “yes”

    If you are logged into WordPress and visit a site that is WP.com hosted … your tool bar will (usually) appear across the top of the page.

    That did not happen for me.

    SO I peaked at the code (view source) and this line is a dead give-away:

    @import url( http://www.eschoolnews.com/wp-content/themes/Wp-Adv-Newspaper/style.css );

    We’ll go over this sleuthing on Sunday. 🙂

Leave a Reply

